Happy Birthday to you, Singapore

No, I didn’t forget about this. I just want this to be the last post for today. 🙂

During my first year in Singapore, I was given an opportunity (aka a ticket) to witness one of the greatest events here: National Day Parade. During that time it was still held at the National Stadium. I was there with a bunch of foreign students like myself. I remember that most of my other Thai friends were not so interested (maybe I was wrong) so I ended up going there with a nice girl from the neighboring country. It was so long ago (ouch!) that I couldn’t recall if I wore a red on that day. There were parades, of course. There were also a wingover (การบินผาดโผน – kaan bin phàad phŏhn) by Singapore Air Force. (As of this year 2013, I remember seeing a news from a local newspaper that there would be a female officer joining the crew. Awesome! Feministe!) For sure, the highlight would be on those fireworks (พลุ, ดอกไม้ไฟ – phlú / dòrk mái fai) and that marks the closing of the ceremony.

ปีแรกที่ฉันมาอยู่ที่สิงคโปร์ บังเอิญได้ตั๋วเข้าดูการเดินสวนสนามเนื่องในวันชาติของที่นี่ ตอนนั้นมันยังถูกจัดอยู่ที่สนามกีฬาแห่งชาติ ฉันไปกับเพื่อนๆนักเรียนต่างชาติด้วยกัน จำได้ว่าตอนนั้นคนไทยคนอื่นๆ เค้าไม่ค่อยสนใจกันเท่าไหร่ (มั้ง) เราก็เลยต้องไปกับเพื่อนนักเรียนอีกคน จากประเทศข้างเคียงนี่แหละ นานมากแล้ว ขนาดจำไม่ได้ว่าวันนั้นใส่เสื้อสีแดงรึเปล่า มันก็จะมีการเดินพาเหรด การบินผาดโผน (เอ้อ เมื่อวันก่อนฉันอ่านหนังสือพิมพ์ เค้าบอกว่าปีนี้จะมีนักบินผาดโผนผู้หญิงด้วย เย้ๆ) และที่แน่นอนที่สุดก็คือจะมีการจุดพลุวันชาติ ยิ่งใหญ่ๆ

Oh boy how I hope every year I would get to join this event again..

อยากไปอีก ☹

HBD Sg

Happy Birthday Singapore, you are 48 years old now!

สุขสันต์วันเกิดนะ สิงคโปร์ อายุ 48 แล้วนะตัวเธอว์ว์

//Photo Credit:

Photo Credit: Seng Goh (Goh Choon Seng)
Equipment: Sony NEX-7 with SEL18-55mm kit lens

From Sony Singapore Facebook

Leave a Reply

