Christmas vs New Year

Do you know that 31 December is a public holiday in Thailand?

And also, we don’t exactly celebrate Christmas for an obvious reason – majority (>85%) of us are buddhists and Christmas has nothing to do with us. However, being commercialized it slowly becomes, coupled with it being close to the year end, we take it as a cause for celebration. The meaning? No. The fun? Yes.

I am not here to write another history on Christmas, I am just here to say that the Thai don’t exchange Christmas presents. In fact, we do exchange New Year presents. I remember that when I was in secondary school, some years we had a gift exchange, or a lucky draw. It’s always fun to guess what is inside the box:

1521228_631239830244429_1856091756_n

(Credit photo: https://www.facebook.com/tudtorcadcad)

On top of that, some schools could be holding a Sports Day (วันกีฬาสี) – the day that most people were looking forward to. Sports, parades, stand decoration, and of course, cheerleaders. I was not very active then, so I couldn’t participate in any sports. I wasn’t very art-inclined, so I couldn’t help with the decoration of stand. I wasn’t pretty, so of course I didn’t think about being a cheerleader. Only in my final year, secondary 6, some people saw something in me – a face with a potential to make people part with their money = business manager (Singapore’s university equivalent). Frankly speaking, I don’t remember doing much for sports day. I did some fund raising for my batch’s yearbook, though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERACheerleaders

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Drum Majors (or Majorettes? — a new term coined by me)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very pretty 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also pretty!

(Credit photos: http://www.dek-d.com/board/view/1518803/)

Ok I seem to digress – a lot – let’s get back to the new year topic!

Here is for you to practise:

สวัสดีปีใหม่

Sàwàtdee pee mài

Hello New Year!

I’ll be back with the Thai new year song for you! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

