chooâi duâi vs. chooâi nòi

A few people have asked me to explain the difference between ‘หน่อย//nòi’ and ‘ด้วย//duâi’ when used with ‘ช่วย//chooâi’. Actually I think they watched some Thai dramas and found out that a damsel in distress usually called out ‘chooâi duâi’ instead of ‘chooâi nòi’.

Here is the explanation:

As we have learned earlier, ‘nòi’ is typically used at the end of a request to make it sound softer. In other words, ‘nòi’ is an informal ‘kàrúnah’ which means ‘please’.

‘duâi’ has a couple of meanings but I am going to discuss the one that is used with a request. ‘duâi’ can also be seen as a ‘please’, but it is a kind of please that will not take no for an answer.

help

Credit: here

Chooâi nòi = I’m cool even if nobody helps me.

Chooâi duâi = I’m in serious trouble so it is really important for me to have someone help me right now.

blech

Credit: here

Kin nêe nòi = Please eat this (if you want).

Kin nêe duâi = Please eat this (and I am going to watch you eat).

telephone-cartoon

Credit: here

Kheun née thoh hăh chăn nòi ná = Please give me a call tonight (if you can).

Kheun née thoh hăh chăn duâi ná = Please give me a call tonight (ok??).

Leave a Reply

