Words with ใ- (18) ใบ้//bâi

ใบ้//bâi as a verb means to give a hint or a clue when someone asks you to guess something.

*The first question that people usually asked me when I first came to Singapore was –

เธอมาจากไหน//Ther mah jàhk năi

Where are you from?

ทายสิคะ//Thaai sì khá

Make a guess.

เวียดนามเหรอ//Vietnam rěr

Vietnam?

ไม่ใช่//Mâi châi

No.

หรืออินโดนีเซีย//Rěu Indonesia

Indonesia? (Upon looking at my name.)

ไม่ใช่//Mâi châi

No.

อินเดียใช่มั้ย//India châi mái

India? (????)

ก็ไม่ใช่//Kôr mâi châi

Also no.

ไต้หวันแน่เลย//Taiwan nâe loei

Then it must be Taiwan.

ไม่ใช่ค่ะ ฉันไม่พูดภาษาจีนนะ//Mâi châi khâ chăn mâi phôod phaasăh jeen ná

No. I don’t speak Chinese.

ใบ้หน่อยสิครับ//Bâi nòi sì khráb

Can you give me some hint?

ใกล้ๆสิงคโปร์//Klâi kliâ Singapore

It is very near Singapore.

มาเลเซียใช่มั้ย//Malaysia châi mái

Malaysia?

เอ้า ก็เพิ่งบอกว่าไม่พูดภาษาจีน//âo kôr phêrng bòrk wâh mâi phôod phaasăh jeen

Didn’t I just say I don’t speak Chinese..?

My apology, I digressed. Here is another meaning:

คนใบ้//khon bâi

= คนพูดไม่ได้//khon phôod mâi dâi

= Mute person

post-1387-1140192773Credit pic: here

Leave a Reply

