Different degrees of happiness – How to describe your wonderful moment in Thai

I have got a couple of students asking me the differences of “ดีใจ//dee jai”, “มีความสุข//mee khwaam sùk” and “พอใจ//phor jai”, so I thought I should do up an entry on it while waiting for the next lesson to hatch.


ดีใจ//dee jai simply means glad.

ผมดีใจที่คุณมา

Phŏm dee jai thêe khun mah

I am glad that you came.

Smiling group of young people enjoying cocktails at christmas

Credit pic: here


มีความสุข//mee khwaam sùk can be directly translated as “to have happiness”.

ฉันมีความสุขเวลาฉันดื่มกาแฟแล้วก็ฟังเพลง

Chăn mee khwaam sùk wehlah chăn dèum kaafae láew kôr fang phlehng.

I am happy (lit. have happiness) when I am having my coffee and listening to music.

177551544

Credit pic: here


In short, ดีใจ//dee jai is the feeling you have at that particular moment. มีความสุข//mee khwaam sùk is the feeling at the background, there may or may not be a peak point.


Most people know that พอ//phor means “(to have) enough”, hence the feeling of พอใจ//phor jai occurs when you feel having enough. The closest English word would be “to be satisfied”. The other possibility is “to be pleased”. This is especially true when it comes to the negative version. ไม่พอใจ//mâi phor jai seems to refer to being dissatisfied, and therefore not being pleased.


Let’s try this:

ฉันอยู่ต่างประเทศหลายปีแล้วแต่ฉันไม่มีความสุข ฉันก็เลยลาออกจากงานและซื้อตั๋วเครื่องบินกลับบ้าน แม่ของฉันก็พอใจกับการตัดสินใจของฉัน แต่หัวหน้าไม่พอใจ เพราะตอนนี้บริษัทของเรากำลังขาดคน

แฟนของฉันก็ไม่ดีใจ แต่เขาไม่โกรธที่ฉันเลือกทำอย่างนี้

ยิ่งใกล้วันเดินทาง ฉันก็ยิ่งดีใจ ดีใจที่จะได้กลับบ้าน

ตอนนี้ฉันอยู่กับแม่ ทำงานได้เงินเดือนมากไม่เท่าที่ต่างประเทศ แต่ฉันก็มีความสุขที่ได้อยู่กับคนที่ฉันรัก

hqdefault (2)

Credit pic: here

I had been living overseas for many years but I had not been happy. As a result, I quit my job and bought an air ticket to return home. My mom was pleased with my decision. But my boss was not pleased, since right now the company lacked manpower.

My boyfriend was not happy either, nevertheless he was not angry that I had chosen to do this.

The closer to the departure, the happier I became. Glad that I would get to go home.

Right now I am home with mom. I don’t get paid a lot like when I was overseas. Still, I am happy that I get to stay with the person I love.

Leave a Reply

